LGcomms announces new officer line-up

LGcomms – the membership body that represents PR practitioners in local government – today announced its new Officer line-up following its 2020 AGM.

After four years as Chair, Simon Jones stands down from the role, and is succeeded by Alix Macfarlane, Deputy Head of Communications at Brighton and Hove City Council.

The organisation’s other Officers for the coming year are:

Vice Chairs:
Emma Rodgers
Danni Clayton

National Secretary:
Andy Allsopp

Ben Knowles

Executive Director:
Francis Ingham


Alix MacfarlaneAlix Macfarlane MPRCA, said: “As chair, I will be a proud champion for our profession and all our members. I’m committed to developing our investment in our communicators and building on the wide-ranging offer already being delivered by our organisation.

“I aim to put diversity at the heart of everything we do to make local government communications stronger, more diverse and more influential.

“We are facing challenges at this time which also bring opportunity across our sector. I will work with the LGcomms team and our partners in the coming months to provide support to our members across the country. I will also work to promote recognition of the exceptional work being carried out at local, regional and national level.

“I’m grateful to Simon for all he has done to invigorate LGcomms. Simon has been an excellent chair and will be missed by all the executive committee. He leaves with our thanks for a job well done.”

Simon Jones MPRCA, said: “It has been a privilege to lead LGcomms over the past four years. I hopefully leave the organisation in a strong place at a time when the vital role that local and national public sector communications plays is recognised by all. Alix will bring new ideas and energy into LGcomms to ensure that we remain a champion and advocate for our sector.”

LGcomms Executive Director Francis Ingham MPRCA, said: “It has been a pleasure working with Simon over the past few years. LGComms has been transformed under his leadership, now representing more local authority PR teams than ever before, and offering comprehensive support to local government PR practitioners.

“I look forward to working with Alix as we build on these fantastically strong foundations. The role of LGComms in bringing together this network of public sector communicators; showcasing the essential work undertaken by them; and sharing best practice and expertise has never been more essential.”

The new Executive is made up of 28 people, including ten new members:

Camilla Mankabady, Liverpool
Carly Davis, Waltham Forest
Florence Obbina, Hackney Council
Georgia Turner, Bournemouth, Christchurch & Poole
Harriet Shore, Westminster
Hayley Lancaster, Caerphilly County Borough Council
Michel Moore, Cheshire East
Peter Holt, South Northants
Ruth Fry, Perth and Kinross
Shaun Gibbons, South Holland


Returning members of the Executive:

Alex Mills, South Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service
Alix Macfarlane, Brighton & Hove City Council
Andrew Hadfield, Hertfordshire County Council
Andy Allsopp, Essex County Council
Ben Knowles, Hounslow Council
Caroline Binnie, Falkirk Council
Danielle Clayton, Leeds City Council
Eleri Roberts, Birmingham City Council
Emma Rodgers, Stoke-on-Trent City Council
Francis Ingham, PRCA
Hannah Clubb, West Sussex County Council
Harri Robinson, Waverley Borough Council
Josh Warwick, LGA
Julie Odams, Derbyshire County Council
Mark Miller, West Suffolk Council
Martin Szybut, Sutton Council
Matt Nicholls, LGA
Nick Thomspon, Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea


Posted on 16th April 2020